Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa
Conseil pour le développement de la recherche en sciences sociales en Afrique
Conselho para o Desenvolvimento da Pesquisa em Ciências Sociais em África
مجلس تنمية البحوث الإجتماعية في أفريقيا


Quatrième conférence du CODESRIA sur l’édition électronique

Nous sommes contraints par la coïncidence des fêtes de Pâques et des premières dates de la conférence d’ajuster très légèrement celles-ci. Du 28 au 30 mars 2016, nous aurons maintenant la conférence du 30 mars au 1 avril 2016. Nous comprenons que certains rencontreront des inconvénients et nous en excusons.
Dans l’attente de vous accueillir à la conférence.

Nombre de visites : 15432

Le mouvement pour le libre accès et l’avenir de l’économie africaine du savoir
30 mars - 01 avril 2016, Dakar (Sénégal)

APPEL A PARTICIPATION

Le Conseil pour le développement de la recherche en sciences sociales en Afrique (CODESRIA) promeut la recherche en sciences sociales et la production de connaissances, la publication et la dissémination des résultats de recherche et organise des forums de discussion et d’échange d’idées afin d’influencer l’amélioration des conditions de vie des populations africaines. Par la présente, le Conseil annonce la quatrième de sa série de conférences sur l’édition électronique. Le thème de cette année porte sur le modèle d’édition en libre accès avec un accent particulier sur son possible impact sur la future économie africaine du savoir.

Le Mouvement pour le libre accès est une initiative opportune de transformation des relations mondiales et un moyen de production, de dissémination et d’utilisation de connaissances basée sur le pouvoir des technologies de l’information d’imposer un flux rapide et libre d’études scientifiques. L’utilisation des média numériques pour disséminer des informations scientifiques crée un lien direct entre les scientifiques/auteurs et le public, et facilite un libre flux d’idées et d’informations vitales pour le processus de questionnement scientifique, et par ricochet, l’aptitude des individus, sociétés et communautés à aborder, aux niveaux régional et mondial, les problèmes de développement économique, environnemental et social.

Avec ce niveau de conscience, cependant, il y eut des crises périodiques, plus précisément, la non disponibilité, pour cause de coûts élevés, de publications exonérées de taxes et celles financées par l’argent public. Les plus grandes et plus riches universités du monde fermaient leurs bibliothèques annexes et réduisaient leurs abonnements car les prix des revues grimpaient au-delà des taux d’inflation. Les éditeurs qui avaient investi le domaine de l’édition scientifique d’abord pour soulager les universitaires des tâches de conditionnement et de dissémination des résultats de recherche et dont le rôle sur cet aspect a été monumental, ont pris une orientation rentière, érigeant d’incroyables montages financiers autour des revues scientifiques, et s’appropriant des rapports de recherche reçus de chercheurs et affinant ces informations par des évaluations par les pairs déguisées, tout ceci gratis. Afin de baisser les coûts et regrouper les services, plusieurs universités ont fermé les bibliothèques spécialisées annexes. La situation est pire en Afrique. Aucune université dans le monde n’est en mesure de prendre en charge même un abonnement à une nouvelle revue imprimée – les universités sont plutôt envahies par d’anciens numéros et les abonnements sont associés à des revues qui doivent sortir des stocks des éditeurs

Le Mouvement pour le libre accès a maintenant plus de dix ans, avec des actions significatives malgré les conflits et les oppositions clandestines. Une étape importante du mouvement est l’accès accru des personnes aux publications savantes. En plus de cela, on observe de plus en plus l’autonomisation, la socialisation radicale et la démocratisation de la connaissance par le bas, par opposition à la nationalisation étatique qui prévaut et la concentration de la production de connaissances dans le Nord développé. Les individus, les entreprises et les institutions participent actuellement à la production de connaissances favorisant ainsi l’égalité sociale dans la production et la gestion des connaissances humaines.

L’Afrique a bénéficié et contribué au mouvement. Selon le répertoire des revues en accès libre, la plus ancienne revue à migrer vers la plate-forme de libre accès fut la revue égyptienne Psyché (une revue d’entomologie) créée en 1874. Cependant, l’Afrique a contribué seulement à 6% des 10.152 revues cotées dans le DOAJ en 2014, et seulement 20 des 56 pays africains ont des revues répertoriées dans le DOAJ. En général cependant, il existe une conscience du libre accès dans la région, mais elle est marquée principalement par l’accès et l’utilisation d’informations scientifiques disponibles gratuitement sur le web. De nombreuses activités de publication en libre accès sont teintées d’amateurisme, fragmentées et désorganisées. Il n’y a pas de touche régionale « Afrique » à la signification, la définition et le contenu de la recherche sur le libre accès. De nombreuses institutions et organisations n’ont pas de déclarations de libre accès, et il n’y a pas de directives claires sur leurs positions sur les questions litigieuses au sein du Mouvement. En outre, la communauté africaine des sciences sociales semble se complaire du rôle important du Mouvement dans la diffusion de ses résultats de recherche. Mais surtout, les gouvernements et les institutions africaines rechignent à contribuer à la définition et au contenu du projet de libre accès mondial.

La situation du libre accès en Afrique ne peut être isolée de l’autre aspect du Mouvement : la structure mondiale de la production biopolitique : idées, informations, images, connaissances, codes, affects, relations sociales, formes de vie et dispositifs. Par exemple, la promesse que le cyberespace va reproduire le noyau et la périphérie en matière de « propriété immatérielle et reproductible » ne semble pas avoir pris en compte le « biopouvoir capitaliste ». Les contestations de base sur le pouvoir asymétrique et la représentation, et la géopolitique de production hégémonique et subalterne de connaissances et ses épistémologies, la validation et la diffusion à l’échelle mondiale persistent, même au sein du mouvement pour le libre accès. Au sein de la conscience de l’importance de la « colonialité » du savoir/pouvoir sur l’économie de la connaissance dans le monde en développement, il est de plus en plus courant de penser que le libre accès en Afrique engendre la perversion dans l’« écologie académique » mondiale de la production de connaissances. Alors que la langue, la technologie et l’amateurisme/apprentissage des compétences en édition et les activités subversives et frauduleuses pourraient ralentir les progrès des éditeurs en libre accès locaux en Afrique et ailleurs, beaucoup d’initiatives de publication en libre accès en Afrique sont considérées comme prédatrices.

La conférence du CODESRIA sur le libre accès en Afrique sera un rassemblement d’un large éventail de spécialistes et chercheurs du monde entier qui partagent une préoccupation commune des questions cruciales liées au libre accès en Afrique dans la société mondiale contemporaine. Cette conférence promet de repousser les limites de l’érudition du libre accès en Afrique et dans le monde, d’explorer des concepts de base et des idées, et aider à identifier de nouvelles configurations technologiques et conceptuelles. Elle sera une occasion rare pour les universitaires, bibliothécaires, éditeurs et décideurs politiques de se réunir et dialoguer. Chercheurs, éditeurs et divers praticiens de l’information discuteront des nouvelles orientations de la recherche, des méthodes et théories, et réfléchiront sur les questions de l’évolution vers le libre accès ouvert et leurs implications sur la diffusion de la recherche en Afrique.

Les grands thèmes de la conférence comprennent mais ne se limitent pas seulement à ce qui suit :
• Le libre accès dans le contexte africain,
• Valeur ajoutée et marketing des informations scientifiques africaines à l’ère du libre accès,
• Modèles économiques de libre accès afro-sensibles,
• L’Afrique dans les politiques mondiales émergentes du libre accès,
• Les rôles des institutions et gouvernements dans le Mouvement pour le libre accès en Afrique,
• Droits d’auteur et régimes de licences,
• Accéder aux savoirs autochtones,
• Le contrôle de qualité dans l’édition en accès libre en Afrique,
• Le libre accès et l’économie du savoir de l’Afrique,
• Les politiques d’accès libre.

La conférence comprendra des ateliers sur les usages et les abus de référentiels, des systèmes de revue en accès libre, les politiques de libre accès, les approches en matière de plaidoyer pour le libre accès et les questions sur les données ouvertes.

Appel à candidatures

Nous invitons les chercheurs du monde entier à soumettre des articles de recherche originaux, des recherches en cours ou des affiches dans le domaine du libre accès, avec un accent particulier sur l’avenir de l’économie du savoir en Afrique. Les recherches en cours/résultats préliminaires ne devraient pas dépasser dix pages, avec les références. Les soumissions seront traitées par un double processus de sélection anonyme.

Plus d’informations sur chaque sous-catégorie sont fournies

Recherches abouties

Les soumissions pourraient inclure :
• Des recherches empiriques
• Des théories et modèles

Premiers travaux / Résultats préliminaires / thèses et mémoires en cours

Les soumissions pourraient inclure :
• Des analyses émergentes dans des communications quantitatives ou qualitatives
• Des descriptions conceptuelles

Inscription et financement

Le CODESRIA financera tout ou partie de la participation des invités, à condition que ceux-ci aient apporté la preuve qu’ils ne peuvent, seuls, y faire face. Les participants ne présentant pas de communication devront s’acquitter de droits d’inscription s’élevant à 150 USD pour couvrir l’admission aux sessions. Ces participations prendront en charge leurs repas.

Calendrier

• 15 juillet 2015 : Ouverture des candidatures
• 26 octobre 2015 : Atelier et annonce des résultats des candidats retenus pour séminaire doctoral
• 15 novembre 2015 : date-limite pour la soumission des candidatures à l’Exposition Medias Sociaux
• 15 novembre 2015 : ouverture des inscriptions
15 janvier 2016 : fin de la réception des candidatures pour l’atelier et le séminaire doctoral
• 30 décembre 2015 : date-limite de réception des propositions de communication
• 14 février 2016 : date-limite de réception des versions révisées des propositions de communication, posters, et propositions d’ateliers
• 29 février 2016 : fin des inscriptions
• 30 mars 2016 : Début de la conférence

Information sur les soumissions

A l’attention des participants :
• Les auteurs conservent les droits de leur travail.
• Toutes les soumissions doivent être en anglais ou en français.
• Toutes les soumissions doivent être une œuvre originale non publiée ailleurs, ni en évaluation dans un journal, ni une conférence déjà prononcée, ou tout document sous une autre forme de publication avant la fin du processus de sélection.
• Les auteurs devront fournir des mots-clés avec leur soumission.
• Les auteurs conviennent que si leur travail est accepté, il ne sera pas publié ailleurs avant présentation à la conférence.
• Nous nous réservons le droit de refuser la publication dans les Actes, si au moins un auteur n’est pas enregistré dans la conférence.
• Les travaux acceptés seront publiés dans le cadre de la procédure officielle de la conférence, ou dans d’autres supports.
• Les propositions de communications finales et les questions éventuelles doivent être envoyées à l’adresse suivante : Williams Nwagwu at open.acces@codesria.sn.

Toutes les propositions de communication doivent être adressées à :

CODESRIA
Conférence sur l’édition électronique
Avenue Cheikh Anta Diop x Canal IV
BP : 3304, CP : 18524, Dakar, Sénégal
Email : open.access@codesria.sn
Site web : http://www.codesria.org/

Voir le document PDF...




Commentaires

Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa
Conseil pour le développement de la recherche en sciences sociales en Afrique
Conselho para o Desenvolvimento da Pesquisa em Ciências Sociais em África
مجلس تنمية البحوث الإجتماعية في أفريقيا


Fourth CODESRIA Conference on Electronic Publishing


(Moved from March 28-30 to March 30-1 April 2016) ---
We are compeled by the coincidence of the Easter Holidays with the original dates of the OA conference to adjust the dates very slightly. From March 28-30, we have moved the conference to MARCH 30-1 APRIL 2016. We understand the inconveniences this change might cause, and we apologise for them. We are waiting to receive you at the conference.

Number of visits: 12806

Theme: The Open Access Movement and the Future of Africa’s Knowledge Economy
Dakar, Senegal March 30 - April 1 2016

CALL FOR PAPERS

The Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa (CODESRIA) hereby announces the fourth in its electronic publishing conference series. This year’s theme focuses on the open access publishing model with particular attention to its possible impact on the future knowledge economy in Africa. CODESRIA promotes social science research and knowledge production and the publication and dissemination of research outcomes, and organises forums for discussing research findings and sharing of ideas to influence the improvement of the living conditions of African populations.

The Open Access Movement is a timely initiative to transform global relations and means of knowledge production, dissemination and use based on the power of information technologies to enforce free and timeous flow of scholarly content. Using digital media to circulate scholarly information creates direct linkages between scholars/authors and the public, facilitating a free flow of ideas and information vital to the process of scientific inquiry, and the ability of individuals and communities and institutions to address economic, environmental and social development issues, both regionally and globally.

Alongside this consciousness, however, the alarming serial crisis, namely historically royalty -free, freely peer-reviewed and publicly-funded scholarly publications were no more accessible to the public on the ground of soaring cost. The biggest and richest universities in the world were closing their branch libraries and had cut their subscriptions because the prices of journals were rising above inflation rates. The publisher which entered the academic publishing realm primarily to relieve scholars of the tedion of packaging and circulating research findings and whose role in this regard has been monumental, had gone rentier, mounting incredible pay walls on scholarly journals and possessing research reports they receive from researchers gratis. In an effort to cut costs and consolidate services, many research universities have closed small special branch libraries. The situation is worse in Africa, where the libraries have become stocks of back number information resources.

The Open Access Movement is now more than a decade old, posting several milestones in the face of surreptitious conflicts and oppositions. A major milestone of the movement is that people around the world now have increased access to scholarly publications. In addition to this, there is observed increasing empowerment, and radical socialization and democratization of knowledge from below as opposed to the prevailing statist nationalization and concentration of knowledge production in the developed North. Individuals, enterprises, and institutions currently participate in the production of knowledge thus promoting social equality in human knowledge production and management enterprises to all.

Africa has benefitted from, and has also contributed to the movement. Based on the listing of the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ), the oldest closed access journal to migrate to the open access platform is Egypt’s Psyche (A Journal of Entomology) which debuted in 1874. However, Africa has generally contributed only 6% to the 10152 journals listed in DOAJ as at 2014, and only 20 of Africa’s 56 countries have journals that are listed in the database. Generally though, there exists open access consciousness in the region, but it is marked mainly by access to and use of free scholarly information available on the web. Many open access publishing activities are amateurish, fragmented and unorganised. There is no Africa regional accent to the meaning, definition and content of open access scholarship. Many institutions and organisations have no open access statements, and there are no clear directions about their positions on the contending issues in the movement. Also, the African social science community appears complacent about the significant role of the movement to the dissemination of its research outputs. Above all however, there is the reluctance of African governments and institutions to contribute in the definition and content of the global open access project.

The open access situation in Africa cannot be isolated from the underside of the movement resonating the global structure of biopolitical production – of ideas, information, images, knowledges, codes, affects, social relations, forms of life and dispositifs. For example the promise that the cyberspace will reproduce the core and periphery in matters of ‘immaterial and reproducible property’ appears not to have taken the ‘capitalist biopower’ into consideration. The basic contestations about asymmetrical power and representation, and the geopolitics of hegemonic and subaltern knowledge production and its epistemologies, validation and dissemination on a global scale persist. Within the consciousness of the significance of the coloniality of knowledge/power on knowledge economy in the developing world, there is the increasing claim that the nature of deployment of open access in Africa orchestrates perversion in the global ‘academic ecology’ of knowledge production. While language and technology, amateurish/apprenticeship publishing, business skills and activities of subverts, and spoof initiatives might truly puncture the strides of local open access publishers in Africa and elsewhere, much of open access publishing initiatives in Africa are classed as predatory.

The CODESRIA Open Access Conference will be a gathering of a broad spectrum of scholars and researchers from around the world who share a common concern about critical issues relating to open access in Africa in contemporary global society. This conference promises to push the boundaries of open access scholarship. It will explore core concepts and ideas, and help identify new technological and conceptual configurations. It will provide a rare opportunity for academics, librarians, publishers and policy-makers to come together for dialogues, discuss new research directions, methods and theories, and reflect upon the evolutionary issues about open access and their implications on research dissemination in Africa.

With this scope in mind, the major topics of interest include, but are not limited to:
• Open access in the context of Africa
• Value-added and marketing of African scientific information in the open access era
• Afro-sensitive open access economic models
• Africa in the emerging global politics of open access
• Roles of institutions and governments in the open access movement in Africa
• Copyright and licensing regimes
• Opening indigenous knowledges
• Quality control in open access publishing in Africa
• Open access and Africa’s knowledge economy
• The politics of open access

The conference will feature Workshops on repositories, open journal systems, open access policies, open access advocacy approaches and open data issues. There will also be a Doctoral Colloquium and a Social Media Expo.

Call for Papers

We invite researchers worldwide to submit original full research papers, social media demonstrations, research-in-progress or posters within the area of open access, with a special emphasis on the future of knowledge economy in Africa. Papers in the completed research category should have a maximum of twenty pages, including references. Papers in the Early Work/Preliminary Results subcategory should be a maximum of fifteen pages, including references. Submissions will be refereed in a double-blind process.

More information on each subcategory follows:

Completed Research

Submissions may include, but are not limited to:
• Empirical investigations
• Theories and models

Early Work/Preliminary Results/thesis and dissertation in progress

Submissions may include, but are not limited to:
• Emerging analysis in quantitative or qualitative papers
• Conceptual descriptions

Registration and funding

CODESRIA will provide funding support to paper presenters who show evidence that they are unable to cater for their participation. All non-paper presenting participants will pay a registration fee of USD150 to cover admission to the panels, and conference packages and workshops only; and will cater for their feeding and air fare.

Timeline

• 15 July 2015: Open for submissions
• 26 October 2015: Workshop and Doctoral Colloquium decisions announced
• 15 November 2015: Social Media Expo sign-up period ends
• 15 November 2015: Registration opens
• 28 December 2015: Workshop and Doctoral Colloquium application deadline
15 January 2016: deadline for the submission of Papers
• 14 February 2016: deadline for the submission of final versions of papers, posters, and workshop proposals
• 29 February, 2016: Registration ends
• 30 March 2016: Open Access Conference 2016 begins

Submission Information

Please note the following:
• Authors retain copyright to their work.
• All submissions must be in English or French.
• All submissions must be original work, not published elsewhere, or be under review for publication in a journal or other publication venue, or presentation in another conference before the review process is complete.
• Authors should provide keywords with their submission.
• Submitters agree that if their work is accepted, it will not be published elsewhere prior to presentation at the conference.
• Submitters agree that if their work is accepted, only one author will be invited to participate in the conference.
• We reserve the right to withhold publication in the Proceedings if at least one author does not register.
• Accepted work will be published as part of the official proceedings of the conference, or other.
• For Guidelines on the formatting of your presentation please visit : http://codesria.org/spip.php?article2401.
• Questions about any issues regarding the conference should be directed to: Williams Nwagwu at open.acces@codesria.sn.

All submissions to be directed to:

CODESRIA
Open Access Conference
Avenue Cheikh Anta Diop x Canal IV
BP : 3304, CP : 18524, Dakar, Sénégal
Email: open.access@codesria.sn




Comments