Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa
Conseil pour le développement de la recherche en sciences sociales en Afrique
Conselho para o Desenvolvimento da Pesquisa em Ciências Sociais em África
مجلس تنمية البحوث الإجتماعية في أفريقيا


Religions et religiosités dans la gouvernance africaine

2008

Nombre de visites : 4139

Pendant les deux décennies et demie passées, il y eut un renouveau religieux en Afrique, de même qu’une effervescence de nouvelles religiosités qui se manifestent aussi bien en privé qu’en public. Des preuves du renouveau religieux et de la religiosité se manifestent sous différentes formes dans plusieurs pays africains. Ces manifestations incluent : l’émergence de nouvelles obédiences religieuses et une restructuration doublée d’une recomposition des plus anciennes ; la propagation d’une ferveur religieuse généralisée qui va de pair avec des innovations dans les manières de prier et une grande variété dans l’interprétation doctrinale ; la production massive et la distribution de la littérature religieuse, d’objets et d’icônes ; la prolifération d’institutions et de lieux de culte dans les centres ruraux et urbains ; la mobilisation d’un grand nombre de personnes dans les croisades, rassemblements religieux habituels sur une échelle et avec une fréquence inhabituelle sur le continent ; la multiplication d’émissions religieuses, de musique religieuse et de télé-évangélisme ; l’expansion massive de la fonction de fournisseur de bien-être social et de la présence des églises et des mosquées ; le ré-établissement sur une large échelle des écoles confessionnelles (y compris des universités) et l’émergence d’institutions religieuses ainsi que des acteurs économiques/financiers majeurs.

Bien que la majeure partie de la littérature soit sur le renouveau et la religiosité chrétienne, la résurgence ne s’est pas limitée à la foi chrétienne ; l’Islam et les religions « traditionnelles » ont connu un boom, souvent accompagné d’une compétition entre les différentes confessions et sectes pour la conquête du cœur et les âmes de la population. De même, bien que la préoccupation dominante dans la littérature sur le renouveau en cours chez les musulmans s’est focalisée sur « l’extrémisme » et le « terrorisme » islamistes, il est clair que des pratiques qui peuvent être considérées comme extrémistes sont également présentes dans le renouveau chrétien, se manifestant de différentes manières qui méritent d’être étudiées de plus près. Au même moment, le syncrétisme dans les pratiques religieuses a connu un regain, quelquefois traduit dans les mouvements sociaux avec des revendications politiques. De plus, les raisons qui sous-tendent le regain des religions et d’effervescence de nouvelles religiosités ont été débattues dans la littérature et continuent d’être des sujets de discussion qui méritent d’être abordés. Notons seulement que les discussions ont souvent évité la question de l’impact du renouveau religieux et des religiosités sur la gouvernance de l’Etat et de la société sur le continent. C’est précisément ce vide que veut combler la session 2008 de l’Institut sur la gouvernance.

Dans la construction du système d’Etat africain contemporain, l’assertion sous-jacente est que la religion appartient à la sphère privée et que, dans un « vrai » esprit libéral et républicain, doit être séparé de l’Etat. Il ne faut donc pas s’étonner que les auteurs des constitutions des pays africains indépendants soulignent ce statut séculier de l’Etat et insistent sur le principe de la séparation de l’Etat et de la religion dans le système de gouvernance. Cependant, même dans les années 1950 et 1960, à la fin du colonialisme et au début des indépendances, il était clair que la question du rôle de la religion dans la gouvernance ne pouvait pas être réduite à une question législative/constitutionnelle. Puisque, les raisons et processus sociologiques qui rendaient les interpénétrations des sphères publiques et privées telles que, malgré les efforts, les religions et les religiosités se sont introduites dans la conduite des affaires de l’Etat ; de la même manière elles étaient représentées au cours de la création et la reproduction de la sphère publique. Dans les cas extrêmes, des enjeux légaux et politiques directs étaient posés par les partisans des religions dominantes et les porteurs de nouvelles religiosités au principe et à la pratique de l’Etat séculier pour imposer la reconnaissance du rôle et de la place de la religion dans la vie nationale. La polarisation sociale causée par de tels enjeux ont souvent résulté dans de violents conflits entre chrétiens et musulmans ; des heurts entre les militants religieux et les forces locales de police ; des conflits ethno-régionaux dans des endroits où la couverture de différentes religions coïncidaient avec des régions géographiques administratives et l’ethnicité, les pressions continues pour les changements constitutionnels et la réforme de l’administration nationale-territoriale pour s’adapter aux demandes religieuses ; des efforts pour limiter la moralité dans la vie publique à son aspect religieux ; et des campagnes pour la redéfinition des enjeux civiques et les enseignements en accord avec différents credo religieux.

A travers la session 2008 de l’Institut sur la Gouvernance, le Conseil propose que l’attention soit portée sur les implications du renouveau religieux et les nouvelles religions qu’a connues la gouvernance sur le continent. A cet effet, différents modes de gestion de cette résurgence des religions et des religiosités seront explorées. A un niveau, l’attention sera portée sur l’impact de la nouvelle religiosité sur la gestion de la sphère publique en Afrique, cette sphère qui comprend les dimensions politique, économique, sociale, culturelle, artistique, esthétique, étique et morale qui imprègnent les différentes relations de classes, de genres, ethno-régionales et inter-générationnelles. A un autre niveau, les lauréats de l’institut seront encouragés à examiner l’impact de la religion et des religiosités sur l’Etat africain et son fonctionnement, à partir d’une perspective historique qui prend en compte la multitude des enjeux légal-constitutionnels, politico-administratifs et socio-culturels qui en découlent. De plus, les conséquences des discours religieuxs en compétition sur le projet de construction de l’Etat, spécialement dans des contextes multi-ethniques où différentes sectes et obédiences religieuses existent côte à côte seront également examinées. Le rôle des associations religieuses dans la politique national sera étudié de même que leur impact sur la mobilisation et la reproduction du leadership et de la légitimité. La manière dont les pouvoirs religieux/spirituels et l’autorité et le pouvoir temporels interagissent dans le processus historique et contemporain de gouvernance en Afrique. Le rôle des institutions religieuses, y compris les organisations de presse qu’elles contrôlent, dans les processus démocratiques en cours en Afrique seront examinées, étant entendu qu’une grande part du projet démocratique africain est la promotion de l’égalité des genres. Les nouvelles religiosités ont également été accompagnées par une émergence de nouveaux mouvements sociaux fondées sur la religion tels que le Mouvement du Saint-Esprit et l’Armée de résistance du Seigneur. La politique de ces mouvements sera examinée.

novembre 5 2008

Bibliographie PDF 335.8 ko


Commentaires

Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa
Conseil pour le développement de la recherche en sciences sociales en Afrique
Conselho para o Desenvolvimento da Pesquisa em Ciências Sociais em África
مجلس تنمية البحوث الإجتماعية في أفريقيا


Religions and Religiosities in African Governance

2008

Number of visits: 2556

Over the last two and half decades, there has been a major religious revivalism engulfing the African continent, side-by-side with the efflorescence of new religiosities that are manifested in private as much as they are exhibited in public. Evidence of both the religious revivalism and increased religiosities are strewn in various forms across the landscape of most African countries. The evidence includes: The emergence of new religious denominations alongside the revamping and re-composition of old ones; the spread of a generalised religious fervour that has gone hand-in-hand with innovations in modes of worship and a greater variety in doctrinal interpretations; the massive production and distribution of religious literature, paraphernalia and icons; the proliferation of institutions and places of worship in rural and urban centres, most times regardless of established city and rural master plans; the mobilisation of large numbers of people to regular religious crusades/rallies on a scale and with a frequency not commonly seen on the continent; the growth and expansion of religious broadcasts, gospel music and televangelism; the massive expansion of the social welfare function and presence of the church and the mosque; the expansion in religious associational life spanning various spheres of life and livelihood; the (re-)establishment on a massive scale of religious schools (including universities); and the emergence of religious institutions as major economic/financial players.

Although much of the literature has focused on Christian religious revivalism and religiosity, the resurgence that has occurred has not by any means been limited to the Christian faith; both Islam and “traditional” religions have enjoyed a boom in their own way, doing so sometimes in reactive competition among the different denominations and sects for the hearts and souls of the populace. Similarly, although much of the concern in the dominant literature about the revivalism taking place among Muslims has been disproportionately focused on Islamic “extremism” and “terrorism”, clearly practices which may be characterised as extremist are also present in the Christian religious revivalism that has occurred, manifesting itself in various ways that deserve to be closely studied too. At the same time, syncretism in religious practices has enjoyed a revival, sometimes translating into social movements that stake direct political claims. Furthermore, the reasons underpinning the revival in religions and the efflorescence of new religiosities have been much debated in the literature and are the objects of a continuing discussion that deserves to be engaged but which needs not detain us here for now. Suffice it to note though that much of that discussion has sidestepped the question of the impact of religious revivalism and religiosities on the governance of state and society across the continent. It is precisely this gap that the 2008 session of the CODESRIA Governance Institute is designed to fill.

In the construction of the contemporary African state system, the underlying assumption is that religion belongs to the private sphere and, in a “true” liberal, republican spirit, is to be separated from the state. Little wonder then that the framers of the constitutions of independent African countries underscored the secular status of the state and went to great lengths to inscribe the principle of the separation of state and religion into the system of governance. And yet, even in the 1950s and 1960s, as colonialism came to an end and independence was achieved, it was clear that the matter of the role of religion in governance could not simply be reduced to a legal-constitutional matter. For, many were the sociological reasons and processes that made for the interpenetration of the public and private realms such that even with the best efforts, religions and religiosities did creep, almost instinctively, into the conduct of state affairs in the same way as they were infused into the making and reproduction of the public realm. In the worst cases, direct legal and political challenges were posed by the partisans of the dominant religions and bearers of the new religiosities to the principle and practice of the secular state as to force the recognition of the role and place of religion in national life unto the national agenda. The social polarisation occasioned by such challenges sometimes resulted in violent conflicts between Christians and Muslims; clashes between religious militants and the local forces of law and order; ethno-regional conflicts in places where the spread of different religious persuasions co-terminated with geographical-administrative regions and ethnicity; sustained pressures for constitutional changes and the reform of national-territorial administration to accommodate religious claims; attempts at narrowing morality in public life to religious morality; and campaigns aimed at re-defining civic identities and the educational curricular in accordance with various religious creeds.

Through the 2008 Governance Institute, the Council proposes to focus scholarly attention primarily on the implications of the religious revivalism and the new religiosities that have been experienced in Africa for governance on the continent. To this end, various governance dimensions of the resurgence in religions and religiosities will be explored. At one level, attention will be paid to the impact of the new religiosity on the governance of the public realm in Africa, that realm being understood in all-encompassing manner to include political, economic, social, cultural, artistic, aesthetic, ethical and moral dimensions that are permeated by various class, gender, ethno-regional and inter-generational relations. At another level, laureates of the Institute will be encouraged to examine the impact of religion and religiosities on the African state and its functioning, doing so from a historicized perspective that also takes on board the plethora of legal-constitutional, political-administrative and sociological-cultural challenges arising. Furthermore, the consequences of competing religious claims and religiosities on the nation-building project, especially in multi-ethnic contexts where various religious sects and denominations exist side-by-side, will be examined in-depth. Also, the role of religious associations in national politics will be explored, as will their impact on the mobilisation and reproduction of leadership and legitimacy. Of interest too will be the manner in which religious/spiritual power and temporal authority and power are interfaced in the process of governance in Africa both historically and contemporaneously. The role of religious institutions, including the media organisations they control, in the democratic processes taking place in Africa will be examined, it being understood that a central part of the African democratic project is the promotion of gender equality. The new religiosities have also been accompanied by the emergence of new social movements anchored in religion such as the Holy Spirit Movement and the Lord’s Resistance Army. The politics of those movements will be examined.


BibliographyPDF335.8 kb


Comments

Merrie - 2013-05-27 04:55:51

I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the issue is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.velosterPq3kpVeBB1mmhcuBo03H