Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa
Conseil pour le développement de la recherche en sciences sociales en Afrique
Conselho para o Desenvolvimento da Pesquisa em Ciências Sociais em África
مجلس تنمية البحوث الإجتماعية في أفريقيا
In the same section

The Executive Committee

The CODESRIA Executive Committee meets two to three times a year to review the budget and work plan and activities of the Council. He is also responsible for the recruitment of international staff.

The Executive Committee, made up of 10 members and with the Executive Secretary serving as an ex-officio member, is the second highest governing organ of CODESRIA. Its members are elected by the General Assembly on the basis of equality of representation of the five regions of Africa, namely, southern Africa, central Africa, eastern Africa, northern Africa and western Africa. The Committee meets at least once yearly and is responsible for the realisation of the objectives for which the Council was established. It is accountable to the General Assembly for its activities and for the recruitment of international staff into the Executive Secretariat. It is also responsible for approving the annual budget and work plan developed by the Executive Secretariat.

Since 1973, CODESRIA has been chaired by the following Presidents:

During the 13th General Assembly held from 5 to 9 December 2011 in Rabat, Morocco, Pr. Fatima Harrak has been elected President of CODESRIA.

Members of the Executive Committee elected by the 13th CODESRIA General Assembly held in December 2011 in Rabat, Morocco:

Dzodzi Tsikata

Fatima Harrak

Etanislas Ngodi

Jessie Kabwila-Kapasula

F.E.M.K. Senkoro

Kenneth Inyani Simala

Claudio Alves Furtado

Emmanuel Yenshu Vubo

Puleng Lenka Bula

Mohamed Helmy El Sharawy

Joseph Gahama

Abderrahmane Ngaïde

Solofo Randrianja

Adam Hussein Adam

Hassania Chalbi-Drissi

Former Presidents of CODESRIA

Pr. Jacques Kazadi Nduba Wa Dile (1973-1976)

Pr. Kankam Twum-Barima (1976-1979)

Pr. Justinian F. Rweyemamu (1979-1981)

Pr. Jacob Mumbi Mwanza (1982-1985)

Pr. Claude Ake (1986-1989)

Pr. Taladidia Thiombiano (1989-1992)

Pr. Ernest Wamba-Dia-Wamba (1992-1995)

Pr. Akilagpa Sawyerr (1995-1998)

Pr. Mahmood Mamdani (1998-2002)

Mrs Zenebeworke Tadesse (2003-2005)

Pr. Teresa Cruz e Silva (2005-2008)

Prof. Sam Moyo (2008-2011)

December 12 2011