Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa
Conseil pour le développement de la recherche en sciences sociales en Afrique
Conselho para o Desenvolvimento da Pesquisa em Ciências Sociais em África
مجلس تنمية البحوث الإجتماعية في أفريقيا


Bibliographic Data Bases

Number of visits: 14597

I. Information Resources searchable in the Library

1.1 CODICE Bibliographic Data Base

CODESRIA Documentation and Information Centre bibliographic data base has many types of documents (books, reports, theses and dissertations, periodical articles, conference papers…) in the fields of social sciences and humanities. It is available from the address below:

https://codesria.kohalibrary.com/cgi-bin/koha/opac-main.pl

This database is searchable through Internet under Koha Liblime platform. To make a search, you do not need to register, simply type the query directly in the search bar: (Search).

1.2 JSTOR (Journal Storage) Data Base

JSTOR is a bibliographic data base on social sciences and humanities. The bibliographic descriptions of the publications listed are very complete with the possibility of accessing to full text. Searches from JSTOR can be done from CODESRIA’s computers inside the Library.
It is available from the following link : https://www.jstor.org/

II. OPEN ACCESS INFORMATION RESOURCES

CODICE brings to the attention of users other databases and search engines that are very useful for scientific research and accessible on the Internet. These specialized databases on social sciences and humanities contain full-text bibliographic references which can be downloaded freely. Most of these databases are Anglophone, however, those with a more Francophone orientation are also listed.

2.1 ASKIA

This portal is set up by ECA (United Nations Economic Commission for Africa). Its advantage is on the types of socio-economic publications it contains and which cover the African continent. It has several search criteria to improve the search results according to the user’s needs. There are also full-text documents downloadable. It is accessible from the following address: http://askia.uneca.org/

2.2 BASE

The BASE search engine is developed by the University of Bielefeld in Germany. It contains millions of bibliographical references, many of them are in open access. This very powerful search engine has several search criteria giving search results that meet the most relevant academic criteria. The service is accessible from the following address: https://www.base-search.net/about/en/

2.3 CORE (COnnecting REpositories)

Launched in 2011, Core now lists more than 79 million of documents in gray literature, research papers, dissertations and open access theses from several information sources. It is the world’s largest aggregator of full-text and free-text research documents. It can be accessed from the following link: https://core.ac.uk/

2.4 SSRN (Social Science Research Network)

Owned by Elsevier, SSRN is specialized in the fields of social sciences and humanities and allows researchers to share articles before their publication. It is one of the main open and collaborative archives in the field of SHS. It is accessible from the following address: https://www.ssrn.com/index.cfm/en/

2.5 ILISSAFRICA - Internet Library Sub-Saharan Africa

IlissAfrica is a project of the African section of Frankfurt University Library and the Information Centre of the German Institute of Global and Area Studies (GIGA) in Hamburg. It is a portal providing integrated access to many sources of scientific information in the fields of sub-Saharan African studies. The link to access it is: http://www.ilissafrica.de/en/

2.6 World Bank/IMF Library Network

This network of libraries is set up by the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund for the documentation needs of their staff. It is accessible at the following address:
http://external.worldbankimflib.org/external.htm

2.7 Taylor & Francis

Taylor & Francis Group is an international publishing house of the United Kingdom that publishes academic and scientific publications.
Taylor & Francis publishes more than a thousand journals, about one thousand eight hundred books each year and has a catalog exceeding twenty thousand titles. The catalog address is: https://www.tandfonline.com/

2.8 1findr platform

1findr platform is the largest collection of peer-reviewed articles in the world covering all scientific fields. The platform has both an optimized and a free versions with the possibilty to download documents. The address of his catalog is: www.1findr.com.

2.9 Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

DOAJ is a bibliographic database that lists open access scientific journals that meet quality criteria. It contains full text articles with free access. Its ambition is to cover all subjects on all languages. It is accessible from: https://doaj.org/.

2.10 Gallica

Gallica is the digital library of the National Library of France and its partners. In open access since 1997, it has more than 5 million documents. Gallica is accessible from the following address: https://gallica.bnf.fr/accueil/fr/content/accueil-fr?mode=desktop.

2.11 ISIDORE

ISIDORE is a platform and search engine specialized in social sciences and humanities. Full text documents, linked to metadata, are indexed to the extent that they are freely accessible. ISIDORE contains many documents in French regarding the data producers participating in the project (Cairn.info, Persée, OpenEdition Journals, Erudit, Gallica of the BnF, etc.) even if other languages such as English and Portuguese are taken into account. ISIDORE can be accessed from the following address: http://www.rechercheisidore.fr/

2.12 ÉRUDIT

Érudit is a non-profit organization founded by the University of Montreal Press and whose main mission is to disseminate and promote Scholarly Research results, mainly in the humanities and social sciences. More than 85% of the content available in the platform is in open access. The platform is available at: http://www.erudit.org/

2.13 PERSEE

Persée allows the free consultation of a complete collection of scientific publications. The portal managed by ENS (Ecole Normale Supérieure) Lyon is an open access to knowledge. With more than 700,000 documents disseminated and more than 300 collections freely available online, Persée is the largest Francophone resource of articles and documents in social sciences and humanities. It is accessible from: http://www.persee.fr/

2.14 Open Edition Journals

Open Edition Journals formerly known as revues.org is a federation of journals in human and social sciences and provides access to full text of hundreds of journals and about fifteen collections of books in the humanities and social sciences. It is accessible from the following address: http://www.revues.org/

2.15 Horizon Pleins Textes

Horizon Plein Textes is the online bibliographic database created by the French Institution IRD (Research Institute for Development). The database contains publications of IRD researchers or researchers associated with this Institute.They are in open access if these texts are free of rights. The Horizon database provides access to more than 73,000 documents online and more than half are available online in full text. The database is accessible from the address below: http://horizon.documentation.ird.fr/

May 29 2019



Comments

Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa
Conseil pour le développement de la recherche en sciences sociales en Afrique
Conselho para o Desenvolvimento da Pesquisa em Ciências Sociais em África
مجلس تنمية البحوث الإجتماعية في أفريقيا


Les bases de données bibliographiques

Number of visits: 0

I. Ressources documentaires consultables à l’interne

1.1 Base de données du CODICE

La base de données bibliographique du Centre de documentation et d’information du CODESRIA renferme plusieurs types de documents (ouvrages, rapports, thèses et mémoires, articles de périodiques…) dans les domaines des sciences sociales et humaines. Elle est accessible à partir de l’Internet à l’adresse ci-dessous :
https://codesria.kohalibrary.com/cgi-bin/koha/opac-main.pl

La base de données est sous la plateforme de Koha Liblime. Pour effectuer une recherche, on n’a pas besoin de s’inscrire, il suffit de taper directement la requête dans la barre de recherche : (Rechercher).

1.2 La base de données JSTOR (Journal Storage)

JSTOR est une base de données de publications en sciences sociales et humaines. Les descriptions bibliographiques des publications qui y sont recensées sont très complètes avec la possibilité d’accès au texte intégral. Jstor est accessible en interne à partir des ordinateurs installés au sein de la bibliothèque.
On accède à Jstor à partir du lien ci-après : https://www.jstor.org

II. LES RESSOURCES DOCUMENTAIRES EN ACCES LIBRE

Le CODICE signale à l’attention des usagers d’autres bases de données très utiles pour la recherche scientifique qui sont conçues par d’autres institutions et accessibles sur Internet. Ces bases de données spécialisées dans les domaines des sciences sociales et humaines présentent également l’avantage d’avoir dans leurs fonds documentaires des références bibliographiques en texte intégral qui peuvent faire l’objet de téléchargement. La plupart de ces bases de données sont anglophones. Toutefois, celles qui ont une orientation plus francophones sont aussi signalées.

2.1 ASKIA

Ce Portail est mis en place par la CEA (Commission économique pour l’Afrique des Nations Unies). Son intérêt réside sur la nature des publications d’ordre socio-économique qu’il renferme et qui porte pour l’essentiel sur le continent africain. Il présente plusieurs critères de recherches permettant ainsi d’améliorer les résultats de recherche selon les besoins des utilisateurs. On y rencontre également des documents en texte intégral qui peuvent faire l’objet d’un téléchargement. Il est accessible à partir de l’adresse suivante : http://askia.uneca.org

2.2 BASE

Le moteur de recherche BASE est développé par l’université de Bielefeld en Allemagne. Il renferme des millions de références bibliographiques dont un grand nombre est en accès libre. Ce moteur de recherche très puissant présente plusieurs critères de recherche donnant des résultats de recherche réunissant les critères académiques très pertinents. Le service est accessible à partir de l’adresse suivante : https://www.base-search.net/about/en/

2.3 CORE (COnnecting REpositories)

Lancé en 2011, Core recense aujourd’hui plus de 79 millions de documents composés de littérature grise, d’articles de recherche, de mémoires et de thèses en libre accès et provenant de plusieurs sources d’information. Il est ainsi le plus grand agrégateur au monde de documents de recherche en texte intégral et en libre. Il est accessible à partir du lien suivant : https://core.ac.uk/

2.4 SSRN (Réseau de recherche en sciences sociales)

Propriété de Elsevier, SSRN spécialisé dans les domaines des sciences sociales et humaines permet aux chercheurs de partager des articles avant leur publication. Elle est l’une des principales archives ouvertes et collaboratives dans le domaine des SHS. Elle est accessible à partir de l’adresse suivante : https://www.ssrn.com/index.cfm/en/

2.5 ILISSAFRICA - Internet Library Sub-Saharan Africa

IlissAfrica est un projet de la section Afrique de la bibliothèque universitaire de Francfort et du centre d’information de l’institut de recherche GIGA (German Institute of Global and Area Studies) à Hambourg. C’est un portail qui permet un accès intégré à de nombreuses sources d’informations scientifiques dans le domaine des études africaines sub-sahariennes. Le lien pour y accéder est le suivant : http://www.ilissafrica.de/en/

2.6 World Bank/IMF Library Network (Réseau des bibliothèques de la Banque mondiale et du FMI)

Ce réseau de bibliothèques est mis en place par la Banque mondiale et le fonds monétaire international pour les besoins en documentation de leur personnel. Il est accessible à l’adresse suivante :
http://external.worldbankimflib.org/external.htm

2.7 Taylor & Francis

Taylor & Francis Group est une maison d’édition internationale originaire du Royaume-Uni et éditant des publications et livres académiques et scientifiques.
Taylor & Francis publie plus de mille journaux, environ mille huit cents livres chaque année et possède un catalogue dépassant les vingt mille titres. L’adresse du catalogue est la suivante : https://www.tandfonline.com/

2.8 1findr platform

La plateforme 1findr est la plus grande collection d’articles revus par les pairs au monde couvrant tous les domaines scientifiques. La plateforme dispose à la fois une version optimisée et une version gratuite avec la possibilité de télécharger des documents. L’adresse de son catalogue est la suivante : Iwww.1findr.com

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

DOAJ est une base de données bibliographiques qui recense des périodiques scientifiques en accès libre répondant à des critères de qualité. Il signale des articles en texte intégral avec un accès gratuit. Son ambition de couvrir tous les sujets sur toutes les langues. Elle est accessible à partir de : https://doaj.org/

Gallica

Gallica est la bibliothèque numérique de la Bibliothèque nationale de France et de ses partenaires. En libre accès depuis 1997, elle regroupe plus de 5 millions de documents.
Gallica est accessible à partir de l’adresse suivante :
https://gallica.bnf.fr/accueil/fr/content/accueil-fr?mode=desktop

2.9 ISIDORE

ISIDORE est une plateforme et un moteur de recherche spécialisée en sciences sociales et humaines. Les documents en texte intégral, liés aux métadonnées, sont indexés dans la mesure où ils sont librement accessibles. ISIDORE renferme beaucoup de documents en français au regard des producteurs de données participants au projet (Cairn.info, Persée, OpenEdition Journals, Erudit, Gallica de la BnF, etc. même si les autres langues telles que l’anglais et le portugais sont prises en compte. ISIDORE est accessible à partir de l’adresse suivante : http://www.rechercheisidore.fr/

2.10 ÉRUDIT

Érudit est un organisme sans but lucratif fondé à l’initiative des Presses de l’Université de Montréal et dont la mission principale est la diffusion et la promotion des résultats de la recherche savante, principalement en sciences humaines et sociales. Plus de 85 % du contenu disponible sur la plateforme est en accès libre. La plateforme est accessible sur :
Ihttp://www.erudit.org/

2.11 PERSEE

Persée permet la consultation et l’exploitation libre et gratuite de collections complètes de publications scientifiques. Le portail confié à l’ENS de Lyon permet un accès ouvert à la connaissance. Avec plus de 700 000 documents diffusés et plus de 300 collections, librement accessibles en ligne, le fonds de Persée constitue la plus vaste ressource d’articles et de documents en sciences humaines et sociales francophones. Il est accessible à partir de : http://www.persee.fr/

2.12 Open Edition Journals

Open Edition Journals anciennement connu sous le nom de revues.org est une fédération de revues en sciences humaines et sociales et permet l’accès au texte intégral de centaines de revues et à une quinzaine de collections de livres en sciences Humaines et sociales. Elle est accessible à partir de l’adresse suivante :
http://www.revues.org

Horizon Pleins textes est la base de données bibliographiques en ligne créée par l’IRD (Institut de recherche pour le développement). La base de données contient les publications des chercheurs de l’IRD ou de chercheurs associés à cet Institut, en libre accès si ces textes sont libres de droits. La base Horizon donne accès à plus de 73 000 documents en ligne et plus de la moitié est accessible en ligne en texte intégral. La base de données est accessible à partir de l’adresse ci-dessous : http://horizon.documentation.ird.fr/




Comments