Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa
Conseil pour le développement de la recherche en sciences sociales en Afrique
Conselho para o Desenvolvimento da Pesquisa em Ciências Sociais em África
مجلس تنمية البحوث الإجتماعية في أفريقيا


Nouveau Comité Scientifique Du CODESRIA

Nombre de visites : 0

Lors de sa 92eme Réunion tenue à Dakar au mois de juin 2019, le Comité Exécutif du CODESRIA a nommé douze universitaires de haut niveau au sein de son Comité Scientifique. Onze d’entre eux ont accepté leur nomination et de servir au Comité. Le Comité Scientifique est un organe de la Charte dans la structure de gouvernance du Conseil, ayant pour rôle de conseiller le Comité Exécutif et le Secrétariat sur l’exécution des programmes scientifiques du Conseil. Le Nouveau Comité Scientifique s’est réuni pour la première fois au siège du Conseil à Dakar les 14 et 15 octobre 2019 dans le cadre de leur 19e session. L’un des points à l’ordre du jour de cette réunion a porté sur l’élection du Président et du Vice-Président du Comité Scientifique et sur l’initiation des membres aux programmes scientifiques du cycle programmatique 2017 2021.

Les membres du Comité ont nommé le Professeur Adebayo Olukoshi à la Présidence du Comité et le Dr. Marema Touré à la Vice-Présidence, et tous les deux ont acceptés leur nomination. La liste complète des membres du Comité Scientifique est la suivante :

  • 1. Adebayo Olukoshi, Homme, Nigeria (Afrique de l’Ouest) Président
  • 2. Marema Toure, Femme, Senegal, (Afrique de l’Ouest, Vice-Présidente )
  • 3. Fatima Denton, Femme, Gambie, (Afrique de l’Ouest)
  • 4. Funmi Olonisakin, Femme, Londres (Diaspora)
  • 5. Cheryl Hendricks, Femme, Afrique du Sud (Afrique Australe)
  • 6. Jean-Christophe Boungou Bazika, Homme, Congo (Afrique Centrale)
  • 7. Samuel Negash, Homme, Ethiopie (Afrique de l’Est)
  • 8. Nacer Djabi, Homme, Algerie (Afrique du Nord)
  • 9. Driss Ksikes, Homme, Maroc (Afrique du Nord)
  • 10. Maitseo Bolaane, Femme, Bostwana (Afrique Australe)
  • 11. Nansozi Muwanga, Femme, Uganda (Afrique de l’Est)

Le Professeur Olukoshi est le Directeur Régional pour l’Afrique et l’Asie occidentale à l’Institut International pour la démocratie et l’assistance électorale (IDEA) basé à Addis Abeba. Il est également ancien Secrétaire Exécutif du CODESRIA et a une grande expérience dans la gouvernance d’institutions engagés dans divers travaux académiques et politiques. Il a largement publié sur divers sujets en sciences sociales. Le Dr Marema Thiam est une sociologue de formation. Elle est le Chef de Section Sciences Humaines et Sociales (SHS) du Bureau Régional de l’Unesco pour l’Afrique de l’Ouest à Dakar. Elle a longtemps été associé aux activités scientifiques du Conseil et ses travaux ont portés sur les questions du genre. Elle a également beaucoup publié sur divers sujets.

En nommant le nouveau Comité Scientifique, le Comité Exécutif a pris en compte la diversité au sein de la communauté Africaine des chercheurs en sciences sociales et humaines et à chercher à trouver un équilibre entre l’excellence intellectuelle et la représentation. Le nouveau Comité Scientifique a avant tout la lourde tâche de positionner le Conseil dans une nouvelle ère où il continue à servir de référence et à éclairer les débats, grâce à la production des connaissances de qualité et à contribuer fortement à la production d’une nouvelle génération africaine de chercheurs en sciences sociales et humaines.

Le Secrétaire Exécutif

Godwin Murunga




Commentaires

Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa
Conseil pour le développement de la recherche en sciences sociales en Afrique
Conselho para o Desenvolvimento da Pesquisa em Ciências Sociais em África
مجلس تنمية البحوث الإجتماعية في أفريقيا


Inauguration of The New CODESRIA Scientific Committee

Number of visits: 0

At its 92nd meeting in Dakar, the CODESRIA Executive Committee appointed 12 senior academics to the Council’s Scientific Committee. Eleven of those appointed accepted their appointment and have signed up to the responsibilities of the committee. The Scientific Committee is a charter organ in the governance structure of the Council with the mandate to advice the executive committee and the secretariat on the execution of the Council’s scientific programmes. The new Scientific Committee convened at the Council’s headquarters in Dakar from the 14-15 October 2019 for their inaugural meeting, this being the 19th meeting of the committee. Top of the agenda for the 19th meeting was the election of the chair and vice-chair of the committee and the induction of the members into the Council’s scientific programmes for the 2017-2021 programme cycle.

The members of the committee nominated Prof. Adebayo Olukoshi as chair and Dr. Marema Toure as vice-chair, positions and responsibilities which the two accepted. The full list of members of the Scientific Committee is as follows:

  • 1. Adebayo Olukoshi, Male, Nigeria (West Africa) -Chair
  • 2. Marema Toure, Female Senegal, West Africa, -Vice-Chair
  • 3. Fatima Denton, Female, Gambia, (West Africa)
  • 4. Funmi Olonisakin, Female, UK (Diaspora)
  • 5. Cheryl Hendricks, Female, South Africa (Southern Africa)
  • 6. Jean-Christophe Boungou Bazika, Male, Congo (Central Africa)
  • 7. Samuel Negash, Male, Ethiopia (East Africa)
  • 8. Nacer Djabi, Male, Algeria (North Africa)
  • 9. Driss Ksikes, Male, Morocco (North Africa)
  • 10. Maitseo Bolaane, Female, Bostwana (Southern Africa)
  • 11. Nansozi Muwanga, Female, Uganda (East Africa)

Prof. Olukoshi is the Regional Director for Africa and West Asia at the International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance (IDEA) based in Addis Ababa Ethiopia and also former Executive Secretary of CODESRIA. He has vast experience leading institutions engaged in various intellectual and policy work. He is widely published on a range of topics in the social sciences. Dr. Marema Toure Thiam is Senegalese, a sociologist by training and works as the Chief of the Social and Human Sciences Sector (SHS) at the West Africa Office of UNESCO. She has had a long association with the scientific activities of the Council and her intellectual work has focused on gender as her field of interest. She is also widely published on a range of topics.

In appointing the new Scientific Committee, the Executive Committee paid attention to diversities within the African social science and humanities community and sought to strike a balance between intellectual excellence and representation. Above all, the new Committee has the onerous task of positioning the Council for a new era in which CODESRIA continues to advance as the reference point for illuminating debates, quality knowledge production, and a strong focus in contributing to the reproduction of the new generation of the African social science and humanities community.

Godwin R. MURUNGA

EXECUTIVE SECRETARY.




Comments