Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa
Conseil pour le développement de la recherche en sciences sociales en Afrique
Conselho para o Desenvolvimento da Pesquisa em Ciências Sociais em África
مجلس تنمية البحوث الإجتماعية في أفريقيا
In the same section

The Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is the second highest governing organ of CODESRIA. It is responsible for ensuring the realisation of the objectives of the Council through overseeing of the Council’s overall activities, workplan and budget as well as engagement of international staff. The Committee is elected by the General Assembly and has ten members, with equal representation from the five subregions of the continent, namely, Southern Africa, Central Africa, East Africa, North Africa and West Africa. The Committee is accountable to the General Assembly and chaired by the President, with the Executive Secretary in ex-officio member status. The CODESRIA Executive Committee meets two to three times a year to review the budget and work plan and activities of the Council.

Since 1973, CODESRIA has been presided over by following:

During the 14th General Assembly held from 8 to 12 june 2015 in Dakar, Senegal, Pr. Dzodzi Tsikata has been elected President of CODESRIA.

Members of the Executive Committee elected by the 13th CODESRIA General Assembly held in December 2011 in Rabat, Morocco:

Dzodzi Tsikata

Nkolo Foe

Andre Mbata Mangu

Kenneth Inyani Simala

Puleng LenkaBula

Khalid Ali El Amin

Isabel Maria Alçadra Padez Cortesao Casimiro

Slaheddinne Ben Fredj

Hassan Remaoun

Rokhaya Fall

Former Presidents of CODESRIA

Pr. Jacques Kazadi Nduba Wa Dile (1973-1976)

Pr. Kankam Twum-Barima (1976-1979)

Pr. Justinian F. Rweyemamu (1979-1981)

Pr. Jacob Mumbi Mwanza (1982-1985)

Pr. Claude Ake (1986-1989)

Pr. Taladidia Thiombiano (1989-1992)

Pr. Ernest Wamba-Dia-Wamba (1992-1995)

Pr. Akilagpa Sawyerr (1995-1998)

Pr. Mahmood Mamdani (1998-2002)

Mrs Zenebeworke Tadesse (2003-2005)

Pr. Teresa Cruz e Silva (2005-2008)

Prof. Sam Moyo (2008-2011)

0 | 12 | Show all
June 18 2015